History of PONLEU KAMPUCHEA

                                                            dr. Siphannal Toch 

 

Versie 2During my return to  Cambodia In December 1998 (after 25 years of absence from my home country) for a medical Conference in Phnom Phen, I noticed a considerable lack of diagnostic facilities even at the French Cambodian Calmette Hospital.It is a devastated country due to a civil war for a period of three decades. I realized that the misery and poverty in Cambodian is not only a result of low income, but also because of potential corruption, especially in the health sector.

Therefore, it seemed natural to me to participate in the education and health policy of the Royal Government of Cambodia and many associations. Although health is a crucial factor, the acquisition of professional knowledge and skills is also important to reduce poverty.

I started the project to found a health facility in Phnom Penh, to allow the poor population to have access to most moderne techniques in health care. (Especially the most deprived which does not have the means to travel to Bangkok, Ho Chi Minh City and Singapore for treatment.)

In April 2001, the first scanner center ‘Corps Entier’ became installed in Phnom Penh, thanks to the help of Scanner Poitou-Charentes and a group of dedicated volunteers.

In September 2001, the association Imcamex was created. Its mission is the training of Cambodian radiologists locally and remotely via internet, as well as the creation of a diagnostic center in Phnom Penh.

In September 2004, the articles of the association PONLEU KAMPUCHEA are deposited in the prefecture of Poitiers, to participate in the education of destitute children far away from cities. The association decides to support a remote village named Takos in an isolated and sparsely  populated area. The village (about 5000 inhabitants) is located in the province Siem Reap, 25 km north of the famous Angkor complex. Ponleu Kampuchea provides a dispensary and a school for french and english language.

In January 2006, we created the association Moharik Strey Khmer, by installing a mammogram, ultrasound and conventional radiology in Phnom Penh. The aim is free screening and treatment of breast cancer. We could not continue this because of lack of financial means.

Currently the development of the center at Takos is continued, a health, educational and cultural center for a deprived and isolated population .

 

>>> Back to top
>>> Home

Historique de Ponleu Kampuchea

                                                  Docteur Siphannal Toch

Versie 2

En Décembre 1998, de retour au Cambodge, après 25 ans d’absence dans mon pays natal), lors d’un congrès médical à Phnom Penh, j’ai constaté un grand manque de centres de diagnostic, même à l’hôpital franco-cambodgien Calmette. C’est un pays dévasté par une guerre civile pour une periode de trois décennies. Il m’est aussi apparu que le dénuement et la pauvreté au Cambodge ne résultent pas seulement d’un faible revenu, mais aussi à cause de la corruption possible, particulièrement dans le secteur de la santé.

C’est pourquoi, il m’a semblé naturel de participer à l’effort éducatif et sanitaire mené par le gouvernement Royal du Cambodge et par de nombreuses associations. La santé constitue certes un facteur capital, mais l’acquisition de compétences est tout aussi vitale pour diminuer la pauvreté.

J’ai alors formé le projet de fonder un établissement de santé à Phnom Penh, afin de permettre à la population d’accéder aux techniques plus modernes dans les soins de santé.

En Avril 2001, avec l’aide des médecins radiologues de  Scanner Poitou-Charentes et d’un groupe de bénévoles motivés, j’ai pu installer un premier centre de scanner ‘corps entier’ à Phnom Penh.

En septembre 2001, l’association Imcamex est née. Le but est de former des radiologues cambodgiens sur place et à distance sur internet, ainsi que la création d’un centre de diagnostic à Phnom Penh.

En septembre 2004, les statuts de l’Association PONLEU KAMPUCHEA sont déposés à la préfecture de Poitiers pour participer à l’effort éducatif des enfants démunis, loin des villes. L’association est créée pour apporter son soutien à un village isolé, Takos, Un village d’environ 5000 habitants situé dans la province de Siem Reap, à 25km au nord du site prestigieux d’Angkor. Takos est situé dans une zone isolée et peu peuplée. PONLEU KAMPUCHEA assure sur place le fonctionnement d’un dispensaire et d’une école de langue française et anglaise.

En janvier 2006, nous avons créé l’association Moharik Strey Khmer, en installant une mammographie, une échographie et de la radiologie conventionnelle à Phnom Penh pour un accès  gratuit aux examens et traitements des cancers du sein. Faute de moyens financiers, nous n’avons pu continuer cette action.

Actuellement, nous continuons à développer à Takos, un centre culturel, éducatif et de soins de santé pour une population défavorisée et isolé.

>>> retour haut page
>>> accueil